The consumer has taste!

The consumer has taste!
14 April 2021

Released in 1998, Meat Standards Australia (MSA) was developed by the Australian red meat industry to improve the eating quality consistency of beef and sheep-meat.

The system is based on almost 800,000 consumer taste tests by more than 114,000 consumers, from 11 countries and takes into account all factors that affect eating quality from the paddock to the plate.

The MSA grading system is designed to take the guesswork out of buying and cooking Australian beef.

Australian beef brands can choose to underpin the eating quality of their products with MSA standards and grading specifications.

MSA calculates and differentiates on three levels of eating quality for each cut in the carcase - three star (good every day), four star (better than every day), and five star (premium quality).

The MSA system starts in the paddock with producers who are dedicated to following MSA recommendations to maintain the best welfare, handling and transport practices.

Its all about the farmer demonstrating their transparency of practice and being respectful to the animal, to the environment and to you, the consumer.

Combined with cooking method, these descriptions provide you with everything you need to purchase and prepare beef and sheep-meat with confidence.


The Source!

Back To News